Pennsylvania Legal Services Honors 2005 Excellence Award Winners


Pennsylvania Legal Services presented its 2005 PLS Excellence Awards on March 8, 2005. The recipients were recognized at the annual awards dinner which was held at the Harrisburg Hilton and Towers.

The keynote speaker for the event was Leslie Anne Miller, the former General Counsel to the Governor of Pennsylvania and long time friend of the legal services community. The event also featured a Memorial Tribute to Louise Brookins, long-time client advocate and PLS Board member who died on February 5, 2005.

2005 Excellence Awards
Tribute Videos

The 2005 PLS Excellence Award winners are:

  • Senators Jay Costa, James Ferlo and Mary Jo White
    Pennsylvania Senate
  • Thorp, Reed & Armstrong and Dickie, McCamie & Chilcote
    Lawyers on Loan Program– Pittsburgh
  • Eve Biskind Klothen, Esq.
    Assistant Dean for Pro Bono and Public Interest Programs, Rutgers School of Law - Camden
  • Marjorie Jackson Crowder
    Client Advocate and Board Member, Pennsylvania Legal Services - Philadelphia
  • Marjorie Janoski, Esq.
    Legal Services Attorney, Community Legal Services – Philadelphia
  • Laurence E. Norton, II, Esq.
    Legal Services Attorney, Community Justice Project - Harrisburg
  • Carolyn Sexton
    Legal Services Staff, MidPenn Legal Services - York
  • Ann S. Torregrossa, Esq.
    Senior Policy Manager, Pennsylvania Governor's Office of Health Care Reform and Former Legal Services Attorney

A video tribute highlighting the accomplishments of each of the award winners, available above, was shown as part of the presentation of the awards.

Pennsylvania Legal Services offers congratulations to these recipients and is pleased to have the opportunity to honor them for their outstanding contributions to the legal services community.